JR Fitzpatrick Opens APC United Late Model Series Season with Sunset Speedway Podium

JR Fitzpatrick Opens APC United Late Model Series Season with Sunset Speedway Podium
CAMBRIDGE, ON – Following a pair of shaky outings in weekly Pro Late Model action at Flamboro Speedway, heavyweight contender JR Fitzpatrick jumped on tour with the APC United Late Model Series for the Kleen Flo 100 at Sunset Speedway this Saturday and delivered the type of performance that has long made him one of the most exciting racers in Ontario.

Fitzpatrick led a multitude of laps throughout the event, eventually losing the top spot in lapped traffic and settling for a strong third place finish behind eventual winner Brandon Watson and former tour champion Andrew Gresel.

“It may not be the result we were hoping for – but that was the kind of performance we can be happy with,” admitted Fitzpatrick post-race with a smile. “This was a huge dose of medicine for us after the last two weeks. I’m so happy with the package that we’ve designed over the off-season and tonight was really our first chance that we’ve had to showcase it.”

On the topic of his understandable frustration with lapped traffic late in the event, Fitzpatrick opted to take the proverbial high-road and instead focus on the positive narratives derived from his first career APC United Late Model Series podium finish.

“Man, I’ve won races because of lapped traffic and this is definitely not the first time I’ve lost a race because of lapped traffic,” reasoned the Cambridge, ON native. “It is what it is. Obviously I wish that things had ended up a little bit different, but Brandon [Watson] and Andrew [Gresel] have two of the best teams in the province. There’s no shame in finishing behind them.”

“Last year it really felt like we got off on the wrong foot and it followed us all season,” added Fitzpatrick. “So, hopefully now that we’ve had the kind of start that we want, we can hang on to that momentum through these next eight races and see what we can do about challenging for this tour championship.”